Alert & Warning SystemEmail the Department

When the Siren Sounds:

1. Go inside quickly and calmly. 
2. Close all doors and windows. 

3. Turn on the radio or TV to a local station for further information and instructions. 

4. Turn off the furnace and air conditioner and put out fire in fireplace.
5. Go to a safe room in your home or business.


There are three parts to the Alerting and Warning System for Yellowstone County:

1. EAS (Emergency Alerting System) - This is a system whereby local government sends emergency information via the National Weather Service to the broadcast stations and these stations in turn broadcast it to the public. The primary alerting station is KEMC-FM - 91.7mhz and the secondary alerting station is KGHL-AM- 790khz. These stations, as well as the National Weather Service, broadcast emergency information to the public in the South Central Montana EAS Operational Area which includes the following counties and their county seats: Yellowstone (Billings), Big Horn (Hardin), Carbon (Red Lodge), Stillwater (Columbus), Sweetgrass (Big Timber), Wheatland (Harlowton), Golden Valley (Ryegate) and Musselshell (Roundup).

2.NOAA Weather Radio - The National Weather Service broadcasts weather related information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on a designated frequency for south central Montana. A NOAA weather radio tuned to that frequency can sound an alert tone for severe weather and alert the public to the weather condition. The Weather Service will also broadcast other non-weather emergency information if it is threatening to the public. 

3.Siren System - Yellowstone County has 24 outdoor alerting sirens, 17 in the Billings/Lockwood area, 2 in Laurel, and one each in the rural communities of Broadview, Shepherd, Huntley, Worden and Custer. These sirens are radio controlled sirens activated from the Billings/Yellowstone County Communications (911) Center with a backup control at the Laurel Communications Center. The sirens can be sounded individually, in zones, or all at the same time. Below are maps of where the sirens are located in Yellowstone County, Billings, and Laurel. Click each map for a larger (8.5 x 11 inches) version.

Siren Location List
(corresponds to letter codes on maps)

While natural disasters such as floods, earthquakes, tornadoes or technological emergencies such as chemical spills, vapor clouds, or major industrial fires don't occur very often, you should know what to do when you hear the emergency siren.