Fees Charged in District CourtEmail the Department

Clerk of District Court cannot accept cash in sums over $2500.00. If you are paying a fine, fee or bond for an amount over $2500.00 it will need to be in the form or a money order, cashier's check or credit card.

The fees of clerk of district court (MCA* 25-1-201). (1) The clerk of the district court shall collect the following fees:

At the commencement of each action or proceeding from the plaintiff or petitioner
(Includes Paternity and Invalidity of Marriage)


$120.00

At the commencement of each petition for dissolution

$200.00

At the commencement of each Petition for Legal Separation

$180.00

At the commencement of each Petition for Adoption

$105.00

For filing a petition for contested Amendment of Parenting Plan

$120.00

For filing a Complaint in Intervention, by the intervenor

$80.00

For the appearance of each defendant or each respondent

$70.00

For filing a Foreign Judgment

$90.00

For the entry or renewal of Judgment, from prevailing party

$45.00

For filing and docketing: Transcript of Judgment

$45.00

For filing and docketing: Confession of Judgment

$45.00

For filing a civil appeal from a lower court:... Justice and City Court

$30.00

For filing a civil appeal from a lower court:... Small Claims Court

$10.00

For filing a transfer from another county

$10.00

For transmission of records or files or transfer of a case to another court
(Includes removals to Federal District Court and forwarding appeals to Supreme Court)


$5.00

For all writs of execution, writs of assistance and orders of sale

$5.00

For a substitution of judge (Charge governmental agencies - excluding criminal cases)

$100.00

For registering a process server (Fee is $100.00 plus $5.00 for county-generated ID card)

$105.00

For oath or jurat with seal

$1.00

For authenticated or exemplified copies

$6.00

For certification with a seal

$2.00

For searching court records



$2.00 per name per year up to seven (7) years; $1.00 per name each additional year

For preparing general copies



$1.00 per page for first ten (10) pages; $.50 per page each additional page

For sending email copies 

.25 per page

For preparing a copy of a dissolution decree

$10.00

For preparing a copy of a marriage license

$5.00

For formal/informal probate, guardianship or conservatorship case when commenced
(Includes filing of the will; Ancillary with Montana letter issued)


$100.00

For Probate, Foreign P. R. with certificate

$85.00

For Marriage License/Declaration of Marriage

$53.00

For preparing and certifying a transcript of judgment

$4.00

 

*Montana Code Annotated

 

While the Clerk of District Court's office is pleased to assist you in any way possible, please understand that we are unable to provide legal advice. If you need legal advice, please contact an attorney.