Tax & Fee Schedules

For more information on registration fees and requirements, please visit the Montana State Motor Vehicle Web Site.

Effective January 1, 2018: In addition to registration fees, an annual luxury tax will be assessed on light vehicles with MSRP over $150,000 ($825.00) and motorhomes with MSRP over $300,000 ($800.00), if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer

Tax Schedule for Passenger Vehicles 
The taxable value for passenger cars, pickup trucks, vans and sport utility vehicles previously registered in Montana is based on the manufacturers’ suggested retail price, depreciated according to a set schedule as the vehicle ages. The County Option Tax is calculated at one half percent of the taxable value of the vehicle (calculators and depreciation table below).

Permanent Registrations
Effective January 1, 2006, Motorhomes 11 years old or older may be permanently registered at the owner's option.

Required to register permanently: Trailers (including travel trailers), boats, snowmobiles, off highway vehicles, motorcycles, quadricycles.

Allowed to register permanently if 11 years old or older: Light vehicles, motorhomes, and collector vehicles with qualifying collector plate.

Not allowed to register permanently: Large trucks, light vehicles and motorhomes 10 years old and newer, vehicles with restricted license plates or exemptions.

Transfer of ownership: Permanent registrations do not stay with the vehicle. Registration ends whenever there is a change in ownership. So, in addition to titling fees, new owner(s) must register anew, paying all required taxes and fees. Unless required by vehicle type (TL, SN, OHV, BT, MC), a new owner has the option to register the vehicle on an annual or permanent basis.

Late renewals: If an owner wishes to register a qualified vehicle permanently, however, has not completed renewal for the current year, and the vehicle was not 11 years old at the time of scheduled renewal, the owner must complete renewal for that registration period before the vehicle can be permanently registered. Since the vehicle was not 11 years old in its original renewal period, the vehicle may not be permanently registered until vehicle registration is brought current. Then a second registration may be processed for permanent registration.

Permanent registration requests beyond typical renewal period: If a customer has already received an annual registration and requests to permanently register before the vehicle's next grace period, the customer may register permanently, but no credit is given for the fees already paid.

RPO: Light vehicles will not be allowed permanent registration even if age qualified, as those non-resident vehicles that use the RPO process must also verify current registration in their home state. An RPO is never issued for a snowmobile, boat, or off highway vehicle as other mechanisms provided by FWP exist in statue for non-resident use. Motorcycles, quadricycles and trailers (including travel trailers) are registered permanently when issued an RPO, as there is no provision in statute to register them otherwise.

***New Fee For 2018***
3% Fee On All MVD Financial Transactions

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions

Fees

MCA Statute

23-MVDAdmin

3% fee assessed on all MVD financial transaction

3%

61-3-111


Light Vehicle (1 ton or less) - Annual Registration Fees

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions

Fees

MCA Statute

61-LVREG

Light Vehicle Registration Fee
4 years old or less
5-10 years old
11 years old and older


$217.00
$87.00
$28.00

61-3-321(2)(d)

14-COOPT

County Option Tax - Calculate

Variable

61-3-503
61-3-537

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

84-LTMVPK

Light MV FWP Park Fee (Optional)

$6.00

61-3-321(18)

Other Fees (if applicable):

01-GVWTAX

GVW Tax - Light Trucks
Variable by class - see 61-10-206

1/2 ton = $7.00
3/4 ton = $12.50
1 ton = $17.50

61-10-201

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

Light Vehicle (1 ton or less) - Permanent Registration Fees
(
Optional for light vehicles and collector vehicles with
qualifying collector plates 11 yrs old or older
)

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions

Fees

MCA Statute

61-LVREG

Light Vehicle Registration Fee
11 years old and older


$87.50

61-3-562(1)(a)

14-COOPT

County Option Tax - Calculate
(Variable X 5)

Variable

61-3-562(1)(a)(l)

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

84-LTMVPK

Light MV FWP Park Fee (Optional)

$6.00

61-3-321(18)

(no code)

Permanent Insurance Verification Fee

$5.00

 

Other Fees (if applicable):

01-GVWTAX

GVW Tax - Light Trucks
(Vehicle Ton/Fee X 5)
Variable by class - see 61-10-206

1/2 ton = $35.00
3/4 ton = $62.50
1 ton = $87.50

61-3-562(2)

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

A 16-year depreciation schedule has been established in law.

Depreciation Table - Age & Type of Vehicle:

Age in years

Automobile

Truck

Van

Sport Utility 

Age = current year minus the model year of the vehicle

-1

100%

100%

100%

100% 

0

90

96

93

98 

1

80

91

86

94 

2

69

86

78

90 

3

58

80

69

84 

4

49

73

60

76 

5

41

66

52

67 

6

33

57

45

57

7

26

49

38

48 

8

21

43

32

39 

9

17

37

27

33 

10

14

31

22

29 

11

12

26

18

25 

12

10

22

15

22 

13

9

18

13

21 

14

9

15

11

19 

15

9

13

9

17 

16

9

12

9

15 


To calculate the county option tax, use the calculators below (do not use commas). This information is not guaranteed to be 100% accurate.

Enter the MSRP* and the percentage from the depreciation table provided above to calculate the Taxable Value of the vehicle. Then enter the taxable value and the county option (.5%) and calculate to find the amount of county option tax you owe.

*Do not*
use commas when entering numbers!

Example: a vehicle (car) with the MSRP of 29,000 that is 6 yrs old depreciates to 33%, giving a taxable value of 9,570. One half percent (.5%) of 9570 is 47.85, which is the County Option Tax owed.

Percentage from depreciation table
MSRP*

Taxable Value


*MSRP is the Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price.
You can obtain this from your car dealer or a New Car Cost Guide.

County Option (.5)
Taxable Value (above)

County Option Tax


Fees for Other Vehicles
Motor Homes are registered based on the age of the vehicle. Calculate the vehicle age by subtracting the current year minus the model year. Renewal fees are as follows:

Motor Homes - Annual Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

09-CHFLAT

Less than 2 years old

$282.50

61-3-321(7)(a)(i-iv)

2 yrs but less than 5

$224.25

5 yrs but less than 8

$132.50

8 years and older

$97.50

Other Fees (if applicable):

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

Motor Homes - Permanent Registration
(optional for Motor Homes 11 years old and over)

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

09-CHFLAT

11 yrs & older

$237.50

61-3-321(7)(c)(i)(A)

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

72-MHPFEE

(no code)

Permanent Insurance Verification Fee

$5.00

61-6-158

If a new set of license plates is being issued, an insurance verification fee of $5.00 will be applied

Other Fees (if applicable):

01-GVWFEE

Only if used as a commercial vehicle and issued with Truck plates

Varies

61-10-201

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

All trailers (including travel trailers), boats, motorcycles, quadricycles, off highway vehicles and snowmobiles are required to register permanently.

Motorcycles/Quadricycles and Off Highway Vehicles

 

Motorcycles & Quadricycles - Permanent Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

05-MCFLAT
OR
05-MCOHV

Motorcycle - Street Legal Only
OR
Motorcycle/Off-Highway Vehicle Combination Use

$53.25
OR
$114.50

61-3-321(8)(a)

57-MCSAFE

Motorcycle Safety Fee

$16.00

61-3-321(8)(b)

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

Other Fees (if applicable):

68-CFKADM

Chrome for Kids Administration Fee*

$5.00

61-3-321(8)(b)

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

Off-Highway Vehicles - Permanent Registration
Use this table for motorcycles/quadricycles that are not street legal

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

45-OHFLAT

Off Highway Flat Fee

$61.25

61-3-321(5)(a)

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

 

Trailers - Permanent Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

63-TLFLAT

< 6,000 lbs

$61.25

61-3-321(3)(a)

=/> 6,000 lbs

$148.25

61-3-321(3)(b)

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

Other Fees (if applicable):

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

Travel Trailers - Permanent Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

18-RTFLAT

< 16 feet

$72.00

61-3-321(9)(a)

=/> 16 feet

$152.00

61-3-321(9)(b)

72-MHPFEE

MHP Salary and Retention Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(19)

Other Fees (if applicable):

70-NEWISS

New Issue Plate Fee

$10.00

61-3-321(12)

 

Boats/Personal Watercraft/Motorized Pontoons -
Permanent Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

40-BTFLAT

10' to < 16' - motor/sail/PW/MP

$65.50

61-3-321(10)(a)(i)

16' to < 19' motor/sail/mp

$125.50

19' or > motor/sail/MP

$295.50

Motorized Canoe or Rubber Raft

Above fees apply per length of boat

 

Snowmobiles - Permanent Registration

Fee Codes

Fee Descriptions/Criteria

2006

MCA Statute

16-SNFLAT

Personal Use

$60.50

61-3-321(11)(a)

Business - Rental Use Exclusively

 

 

1st year

$40.50

61-3-321-(11)(b)(i)

2nd year

$20.00

61-3-321-(11)(b)(ii)

 

3rd year (perm reg required)

$60.50

61-3-321(11)(c)